New Interpretive Centre opens at heritage site in Anglo-Tignish
by Sue Gallant
The Green is a 12.4 acre plot of land near the end of Foundersí Lane in Anglo-Tignish. In 1799 it was the landing site of the Acadian founders of present-day Tignish. It is also the site of the first Roman Catholic church in Western Prince Edward Island and incorporates the burial grounds of the region's early settlers.
An outdoor interpretive Centre, celebrating the historical significance of The Green, has just been officially launched. The West Prince Acadian Historical Committee has been responsible for the development of the site, which features a gazebo with interpretive panels, including two colour reproductions of murals by Kildare visual artist Therese d'Amour. The murals depict the landing and settlement of the founding families at The Green in 1799. The original d'Amour murals can be viewed on permanent display with other works by local artists at the Tignish Co-operative Store.
As well as the interpretive gazebo, The Green Heritage Site also boasts an outdoor amphitheatre and staging for historical re-enactments and concerts; and visitor trails. Interpretive signage provides information about additional, historically significant sites in the area.
"The Green now offers visitors a unique opportunity to enjoy the outdoors in a historical interpretive setting," said WPAHC President, Austin Bernard speaking at the official opening ceremony. "We are so pleased to celebrate today's grand opening, and invite Islanders and visitors alike to explore the site, which we feel is one of the most significant, multi-cultural sites on Prince Edward Island."
Project Coordinator, Almeda Thibodeau, explained to invited dignitaries and visitors, the 19-year, five-phase development of The Green Heritage Site, beginning in 1984 with the establishment of the West Prince Acadian Historical Committee. The Government of Canada invested a total of $91,000 in the project: the Provincial Government provided $10,000 through its Community Development Program and provided workers through the Employment Development Agency.
The Green Historical Site is located off Route 12, about four kilometres east of Tignish, and is open through to October.